The Athletic Department Hosts Annual Jersey Blues Awards Banquet

The Athletic Department Hosts Annual Jersey Blues Awards Banquet

Lincroft, NJ- The athletic department hosted it's seventh annual Jersey Blues Athletic Awards Banquet dinner in the SLC - Twin Lights room on the Lincroft campus. Student-athletes were recognized for their excellence on the playing field as well as in the classroom.

Major Award Winners:

The 2018-19 Scholar-Athlete of the Year award goes to a male and female student-athlete with the highest GPA.  In the female category, the department awarded Jessica Textor, from women's soccer and Brianna McCarthy, from women's tennis. Textor and McCarthy continued their classroom domination through their sophomore campaigns, earning degrees with a 4.00 GPA. 

Men's soccer's Amro Dewedar, who finished the year with a perfect 4.00 GPA, earned the male scholar-athlete of the year distinction. Dewedar is a computer science major.

The 2018-2019 Female Athletes of the Year, Lauren Karabin from women's soccer and Shakyra Moore from softball earned distinctions and honors in every corner. Karabin earned first team All-Region and All-GSAC distinctions, Region XIX Player of the Year, NJCAA first team All-American honors, topped the leaderboard for the NJCAA for goals scored and was named to the All-Tournament team for the NJCAA national women's soccer tournament. Moore earned first team All-Region and All-GSAC honors, Region XIX Player of the Year, Schutt Sports/ NFCA NJCAA Division III National Player of the Year, Dudley NJCAA Division III Softball Player of the Year, NJCAA first team All-American honors, topped the leaderboard for the NJCAA for home runs and was named to the All-Tournament team for the NJCAA national women's softball tournament.

Baseball saw sophomore left-handed pitcher Eric Heatter take the 2018-2019 Male Athlete of the Year award. Heatter led the team from the mound with an overall 9-2 record and earned first team All-GSAC and second team All-Region distinctions. Heatter also hurled for 69 innings and notched 96 strikeouts.  

Suzanne Rauso, Student Success Coach/Advisor, was awarded 2019 Most Outstanding Brookdalian. Over the years, Suzanne has dedicated herself to seeing our student-athletes and walking them through their schedules, en-route to the graduation finish line. Her willingness to see as many students as she can, knows no bounds – communicating in person, through email or on the phone. Suzanne always finds a way to help students.

In years past, the Sixth Man award has been given to a person who was an integral part of the athletic department – without actually competing. The 2019 recipient, volunteer photographer Tom Smith, embodies the sixth man because he supports our programs and has perfected his craft while enhancing our athletic website with photographs of our student-athletes in action. Tom has captured action moments and provided us with memories for a lifetime; a way to relive these magical moments out there on the playing surface. 

Ave Latte, Professor of Education, earned the 2019 Most Outstanding Faculty Member distinction. Professor Latte changes lives in the classroom and effectively grabs the attention of her students. She engages her students and continues to support them on their journey through college. Time in the classroom is extremely important and Ave Latte's dedication to her students is limitless. "Every time I see a student and ask about their classes, if Professor Latte is teaching the course, the response is always positive and encouraging", said Director of Athletics & Recreation, Katelyn P. Amundson. Professor Latte has the ability to reach the students and effect change that matters.

Individual Award Winners From Each Team:

Cross Country Most Valuable Player Nick Ince
  Coaches Award Michael Chiappone
Men's Soccer Most Valuable Player Connor Hansen
  Coaches Award Tyler Haines
Women's Soccer Most Valuable Player Lauren Karabin
  Coaches Award Sheridan Casserly
Women's Tennis Most Valuable Player Grace Meyer
  Coaches Award Krysta Cieslik 
Women's Volleyball Most Valuable Player Emily Schulte
  Coaches Award Samarie Hernandez
Men's Basketball Most Valuable Player Jahmere Calhoun
  Coaches Award Mekhi Morgan
Women's Basketball Most Valuable Player Haley Dalonzo
  Coaches Award Anna Catanzaro
Cheer / Dance Most Valuable Player Gianna Devito
  Coaches Award Maya Monae Daniels
Baseball Most Valuable Player Eric Heatter
  Coaches Award James Wynne
Men's Lacrosse Most Valuable Player Jake Roche
  Coaches Award Patrick Gazzillo
Softball Most Valuable Player Shakyra Moore
  Coaches Award Jessica Pszeniczny
Men's Tennis Most Valuable Player Daniel Padiukov
  Coaches Award James McCutcheon